Why Bother to Blog

At the age of 12, my older sister, Shirley, bought me my first diary.  It had a lock and key which totally fascinated me because I could write down anything I wanted and nobody could read it unless they had they key.  I still have that diary and trust me, nobody would want to read it!  My darkest secret at that age was how I hated to wash the dishes.

That diary, however, led to a lifetime of writing.  I love to write and writing has gotten me through the worst times in my life.  I am not a real writer.  I am a fake writer but that doesn’t matter!  When I lost my oldest son, Ryan, almost five years ago to suicide by a cocaine overdose, I did not think I would survive.  A friend brought me a notebook and pen so that I could “write stuff down”.  I didn’t think I would be able to write anything ever again and when I first picked up that pen, my hand shook as I tried to write down a few things that had happened and how I was feeling.  Actually, when your hands are shaking, it’s sometimes easier to type than to write!

Anyway, it seems that everyone is blogging now adays, so I am going to give it a whirl and hopefully, there will be some people out there somewhere who will be interested in what I have to say!  Here’s to writing!

One thought on “Why Bother to Blog

  1. i love it all my lady, i relate to so much, my blogging i think came in writting my music which i am so thankful for.
    one thing i am thankful for is no regrets, glad god gave me the sence to realise that,
    keep writting u r very inspirering, love ya carol

Leave a Reply

