Flowers for Shirley

I lost my best friend, my sister, Shirley, on September 10th, 2004 to breast cancer.  Her birthday is July 24th.  As I was driving to Winnipeg on the 24th, on the way to my Aunt Chriss’s funeral, I didn’t get over to the cemetery to visit with Shirley.  Ryan is buried next to her, so I always visit the two of them.  In life they were together a lot and in death they are together, I’m sure.

I talk to Shirley all the time and still ask her for advice.  She was my older sister and always had the answers, even if they weren’t what I wanted to hear, she told it like it was.

Shirley taught me to enjoy the little things.  She had the most fun when she was with people she loved and doing the things that she loved.  She loved to go camping and so I would go camping with her even though I didn’t really love it as much as she did.  It was such fun for her to plan her meals and cook them outside.  That was great for me, cuz I didn’t have to do any cooking.  I will  have to dig out the pics I have of Shirley when she was camping and add them in later.

I have decided that this being the long weekend, I will take my boys camping.  No, I have never done that before and I’m hoping that Rick will come along but if he doesn’t, I am going to do it anyway.  Shirley would.  I am going to dig out the pics and bring them camping and talk to Andy and Ben about their wonderful Aunt who is still with us in our funny, and silly memories.

Strangely enough, Ryan loved camping too and he would also go camping by himself.  He would go off into the woods all alone with his canoe and camp for a week.  I don’t even like going to the bathroom alone!

This has been a beautiful, hot summer but my flowers have suffered a little bit.  I can’t blame it all on mother nature, I’m not the best gardener, but I took some pictures of flowers today and am sending them to Shirley. 

Shirley, these are for you and I’ll see you at the campsite.

Leave a Reply

