Rembering Ryan

Grandma's sofa

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sometimes the last time you see someone, is the last time you see them alive.  You don’t always get to say good-bye.  The last time I saw Ryan was September 19th, 2006.  He was sitting on the sofa at my parents’ house like he usually did.  I sat beside him and teased him like I usually did.

This is my song for Ryan.  I’ve decided I will put it on YouTube as soon as I figure out how to do that!

For just one day, if I could have you here again

to see you smile, to hear you laugh, I’d give anything

but you’re gone somewhere I can’t go, on your own journey alone

you left behind the ones you loved

I wasn’t ready, I wasn’t prepared

to let you go

For just one hour, if I could have you here again

to hear your voice, to talk to you, I’d give anything

but you’re gone somewhere I can’t go, on your own journey alone

you left behind the ones who loved you

I wasn’t ready, I wasn’t prepared

for you to go

For just one minute, if I could have you here again

to touch your hair, hold you tight, I’d give anything

but you’re gone somewhere I can’t go, on your own journey alone

you left behind, left me behind

I wasn’t ready, I wasn’t prepared

to say good-bye

For just one day, if I could have you here again

to see you smile, to hear you laugh, I’d give anything

In memory of Ryan – February 13, 1985 – September 21, 2006

Leave a Reply

