The Grade 7 Class talks about Ryan

Recently, I made a couple of presentations to some local kids. One was to a small group of high school age kids. I brought my guitar and sang some songs and talked about my experience, told my story, which is all I have, really. They seemed interested and I did receive an email from one of the students afterwards, volunteering to help me with the upcoming Out of the Darkness Memorial Walk and also to make a web page! That is awesome! I really need help!

The other presentation was to the Grade 7 class at the Golden Learning Centre.  That was a totally fabulous experience for me.  They were a lot of fun and great participants.  They are also now discussing ways to help out with the Walk and to raise awareness about suicide.

Whenever I am asked to talk about my experiences, I always jump at the chance and you know why? Because I get to TALK ABOUT RYAN!!!!

During my day-to-day life, I don’t get to talk about Ryan. It makes people uncomfortable. They don’t know what to say. I understand that. But I miss talking about him. My mom talks about him a lot and that is great but that usually makes me cry.

Anyway here is the link to the grade 7 class. Their teacher has them blogging. Wow, I am so impressed. And they are learning about empathy! Another WOW. Good work teacher! You can see what all of the students have written by clicking on their names in the first blog. You can find it here at http://mproom31.wordpress.com/ or by just clicking here or here and at http://mvhalloween.wordpress.com/

2 thoughts on “The Grade 7 Class talks about Ryan

  1. I am so happy that you get to talk about Ryan! You are doing an awesome job raising awareness about a touchy, uncomfortable subject! Proud of you!

Leave a Reply

