Kokum

 

 

Kokum

 
The old woman paddles her canoe

 

slowly across the lake towards me

 

I wait anxiously on the shore

 

and watch her get closer

 

I can see her smile now

 

I can see that familiar kerchief on her head

 

she beckons me to get in

 

we paddle away together

 

I am in the front of the canoe

 

she steers from the back

 

smoothly we glide out onto the lake

 

it feels like we are part of the water

 

the lake is calm today like glass

 

I help her lift the net

 

and put the fish into the canoe

 

we will have them for supper

the old woman smiles

 

wrinkles on her face embrace me

 

her eyes shine with love

 

and not a word need be spoken

 

2 thoughts on “Kokum

Leave a Reply

