Bannock and Music

I find that the older I get, the more I want to return to my childhood.  I think it might be partly due to all of the trauma and the shit that I’ve been through, that I just really find it comforting to think about all of the good things when I was a kid.  It seems to help so I’m not apologizing for it.  I’ve said it many a time before, I love the Archies, barbie dolls, children’s books and anything from the seventies. 

Isn’t it wonderful that the Archies are on You Tube?  I don’t even remember these comics on TV and probably because we only had CBC when I was a kid, but it just makes me smile to watch these on the net.  I’ve had some computer issues lately and was not able to email or blog or listen to music.  OMG, withdrawal… anyhoo, it’s all ok now and I’m back.

I wanted to share with you the fact that I made bannock last weekend and it turned out GOOD.  No, not like my mom’s, but it was mine and it tasted yummy to me.  I’m still learning to be an Indian, don’t forget.  Plus, bannock is actually Scottish, I believe, so I have it covered both ways.

My mother was/is a fabulous woman of knowledge.  She is just now forgetting it all.  Sad what Alzheimers does.  I will continue to share stuff about her and am writing my next book about her life mostly, and her family.  She could hunt, trap and fish, sew, knit, quilt, bead and do leather work. And cook.  I will share more of her in the future.  I’ll just put in a picture of the mukluks that she made me as a girl (so that means they are over 40 years old), and the mitts that she made for Ryan.

I am also using my record player that my sister, Shirley and Ryan and my mom, purchased for me for my birthday about ten years ago.  My sister and Ryan are now gone, and my mom is not the same anymore, so the record player is so extra special.  I love to listen to Boney M or Abba on it.  And I remember the night that Ryan came over and we listened to Black Betty by Ram Jam on this player!

2 thoughts on “Bannock and Music

Leave a Reply

