Gingerbread Drama

The story of Hansel and Gretel scared the crap out of me when I was a kid.  They were led out into a spooky forest and an ugly old witch tried to fatten them up and eat them! 

But the thought of a house made of candy….

So that leads me to my latest project of constructing a gingerbread house.  Never made one before but these days I’m not afraid of failure so I try anything.  The main goal was not so much the building of a beautiful prize-winning house but to get three young men (all taller than me) to participate.  And it worked!  Even though one of them called it a ghetto house at first ( it looked more like an abandoned farm-house to me), by the time we were done everyone had a good time and we will do it again.

Pieces cut out without a pattern!

Pieces cut out without a pattern!

 

I made the pattern!

I made the pattern!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All of our beans come in handy!

All of our beans come in handy!

What happens when you don't have a pattern!

What happens when you don’t have a pattern!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We can fix it Dude!

We can fix it Dude!

Add some trees!

Add some trees!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

winter 2012 038

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Everything was good until Maggie, the big, black lab ate the marshmallows, trees and pretzels…

 

 

3 thoughts on “Gingerbread Drama

  1. cute! We actually got the kids to do it this year too! But we made a bit of a contest out of it, kids against parents! Kids won! We’re tryingn some new things this year too

Leave a Reply

