Stopping by the Woods on a Snowy Evening or Snowshoeing in the Bush on a Snowy Day

Snowshoes have been around for a while.  My Ojibway ancestors used them and made them. I haven’t tried them in a while so I thought I would give it a whirl.  As  a kid, our family always spent time in the outdoors, winter or summer, so I was taught early on how to use snow shoes.  Once when I was a teenagers, my mom and I went snowshoeing  and I was so sore the next day I couldn’t go to school.  (Good excuse, not used too often).

I remember our family going for a wiener roast in the forest by snow shoe.  I also remember on one occasion that I was following the family along a trail and when we had to cross a lake, there was  slush and I was scared to cross it.  My parents kept on going and left me behind.  I had no choice but to cross through that slush.

These snowshoes that I used were made by my mom’s late brother, Uncle Tommy Cameron Sr.  They were made out of poplar wood (black spruce was also used for snow shoes) and moose hide for the strings.  Uncle Tommy made them for my brother, Bill, when he was young, probably about thirty years ago.  They still work! My mom uses them now.  She’s 80 years old.

Here are the pros for snowshoes:

They’re quiet.  They don’t need gas.  You get exercise while you have fun. You can go places you wouldn’t normally be able to get to. You can use them with friends or by yourself. They last a long time.  You don’t need a membership to use them. They don’t take up much space in your house.  You can hang them on the wall. They’re environmentally friendly.

Here are the cons for snowshoes:

They give you sore muscles where you didn’t know you had muscles. You don’t look sexy on them. You can trip over your own feet and if you fall down…good luck getting up without help. It’s a little tricky getting up hills. If you don’t know how to make them, you have to buy them. You might get snowshoe rage, if you’re trekking along enjoying nature, and someone on a snow machine or quad drives by….

But, I would definitely say….try them, you might like them.

winter 2012 081

winter 2012 082

winter 2012 080

One thought on “Stopping by the Woods on a Snowy Evening or Snowshoeing in the Bush on a Snowy Day

  1. Snowshoes are something that I never, ever think about (until now), and never would have thought about trying, mostly because the region I live in is not a place a person would get much use out of them. And yet, for some odd reason, I suddenly want to go for a walk in the snow with snowshoes. You sure make it sound fun!

Leave a Reply

