49 and holding…never let go…

At the end of my forties, yep, officially 49 years old now.  It’s weird because most of the time I still feel 16 in my head.  Then there are the times that I feel more like 80, like I’ve lived more than one life time here on this rock.

We went to Winnipeg last weekend to see Fleetwood Mac.  This was a dream come true for me as they are my all time favourite band.  Stevie Nicks was moving a little bit slow but her voice is still fantastic.  Lindsay Buckingham can jump around the stage like nobody’s business and Fleetwood can hit those drums like a teenager.  Plus, he still looks cool.  It was a great night and I met a great girl who was sitting next to me.  A new friend as well!  I don’t care what Kevin O’Leary says, Fleetwood Mac is still hot!

I woke up sad on my birthday, just really missing Ryan.  But by the end of the day and a few friends later, I was singing Karaoke and having a blast. You see it’s not the number that bothers me, it’s the fact that I keep growing older and Ryan is not here with me growing older as well.

Don’t dwell on the sadness…or rather..

Don’t stop thinkin’ about tomorrow, don’t stop, it’ll soon be here, better than before….

yesterday’s gone…

Thank you Fleetwood Mac!

Picture 089

Will,Ben,Andy on Will's 21st Birthday in April.

Will,Ben,Andy on Will’s 21st Birthday in April.

3 thoughts on “49 and holding…never let go…

  1. So glad you got to see FM for your birthday! What a fantastic activity to mark the occasion, and it sounds like it was a lot of fun! My favorite song of theirs is Don’t Stop, so it was neat that you quoted a line from it. 49 is not going to seem that old once you pass 50, and besides, you’ll still be able to rock just like you always have! Happy belated birthday!

  2. Happy belated birthday, Kathy, and thanks for visiting my blog. It does indeed sound like you had a great day – I have only just “discovered” Fleetwood Mac (don’t tell anyone! I really have been living in the dark, haven’t I?!), and I have to say, I’m a bit sad that I was only a bub when they were at their peak! What a terrific band! And what an opportunity to see them play live.

Leave a Reply

