Summer Festivals

This year, Red Lake’s Norseman Festival was a little different than usual.  It has always been held downtown Red Lake in the past.  The street is closed off, vendors set up and the festivities begin.  This year it was held at a local beach.  Unfortunately, the weather has been colder than normal and not that great so that put a bit of a damper on it.   When it was on the street, I felt like I was living in Mardi Gras for a weekend.  Every time I walked out my front door, there was a party going on.  I kind of missed that this year.

We went to Kenora Harbourfest for the August long weekend and had a blast.  Two nights of music and dancing.  It was a lot of fun and the weather wasn’t too bad either.  Kenora has a very good set-up under the big tent.  The bands that we saw were:  Theory of a Dead Man, Faber Drive, Honeymoon Suite, Jefferson Starship and REO Speedwagon.

We were invited over to our friends for a wonderful, yummy BBQ and cocktails. You can see last year’s festival with Burton Cummings here https://momhealing.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=634&action=edit

We also toured around the area and looked at the deer, like tourists do, which infuriates the residents because the deer are everywhere and eating everything.  And we took in the car show.  I took pictures of my favourites.

After two nights of partying, I was glad to come home and relax.  Can’t wait for next year!

summer2013 182

I’m the chubby one on the left.

Somchit's shop

Somchit’s shop

My friend, Somchit, has a shop downtown Kenora called Asiana.

Those darned deer

Those darned deer

summer2013 206

summer 001

summer 004

The festival is under the big tent.

wakeboarding show

wakeboarding show

summer 003

REO Speedwagon, I think

REO Speedwagon, I think

And now, to get working off all of that wine and BBQ….

2 thoughts on “Summer Festivals

  1. That looks so fun! I’m glad you had a great time and that the weather held out. There were some good live entertainers there — wouldn’t have minded catching a few of them myself. great photos! Oh, and you’re not chubby!

Leave a Reply

