If a tree falls in the forest, does anybody hear?

I had a good discussion with my son tonight about environmental issues.  I don’t know a lot about all of the issues, but I do want to save the planet.  Bruce Cockburn will be performing in our little community this weekend and my son will be volunteering for set up for the event.  He has never heard of Bruce Cockburn!!!!  So I played him the youtube video of Bruce’s bestest ever song “If a Tree Falls in the Forest”.  This song still gives me the chills.

My son wasn’t sure that this song was still relevant today and so I informed him of how I feel it is still relevant…. At this moment, my cousin, is fighting to get some major logging stopped on our family’s trap line.  The trees are being destroyed here in logging and of course then there is Canada’s dirty oil, THE TAR SANDS!

Yes we could go on and on and on….all over the world.

I love the trees.

Here is Bruce Cockburn’s song,  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ErS9HCh8GfE

Watch it and what do you think?

Do you want to look the other way?

 

Logging has made much of the forests ugly

Logging has made much of the forests ugly

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “If a tree falls in the forest, does anybody hear?

  1. Well Bruce Cockburn is awesome. Love his music.

    As for the environment, it is super important. I am going to give you a link to one of my blog posts regarding an issue we faced a few months ago. http://htheblog.wordpress.com/2013/06/04/a-tour-through-lac-ste-anne-county-alberta/
    We got enough media coverage for people to really listen. If you think there is some hope of stopping the logging drop me an email and I will tell you everything we did and perhaps the same tactic will work for you.

  2. That video brought tears to my eyes, and I’m not even an environmentalist. Not that I don’t think it’s a problem, it’s more that I’m not entirely sure what the solution is… people like their comforts and conveniences, you know?

Leave a Reply

