Night with an Olympian, Eric Radford

Yes, silver medalist, Eric Radford, was in town last week.  I was able to meet him and get some pics.  Eric is from our little town of Red Lake in Northwestern Ontario!  From this little village an Olympian rose.  It is truly amazing and inspirational to all of us!

Eric is a world champion figure skater.  His partner is Megan Duhamel.  Did you see them at Sochi?  They won the silver for the Team competition.  Canada, we rock at the winter Olympics!!  Hmmm wonder why.  Excuse me while I go and dig myself out of the snow  in front of my door.

Eric’s mom was my typing and short hand teacher in High School. Anyone remember those days?  Does anyone learn shorthand anymore?  I remember quite a bit and still use it when I’m taking notes. I know, loser.

Eric is such a nice guy.  He posed for endless pictures and signed autographs for everyone!  I am a true fan!  And my son, Andy, got to wear the silver medal for a photo.  He left for the big Ontario Basketball championship the next morning.  It has brought luck so far.  Our Rams boys beat Ottawa yesterday!

Best of luck in Japan Eric!!!

Andy, wearing the medal with Eric and his brother, Richard

Andy, wearing the medal with Eric and his brother, Richard

Me and Jodi with Eric

Me and Jodi with Eric

Me and Jenn with Eric (Jenn Chamberlin photo)

Me and Jenn with Eric (Jenn Chamberlin photo)

Jodi holding the medal

Jodi holding the medal

All in all, one of the coolest nights I’ve spent out in a long time that I will remember forever. I Will also remember the coolest walk home later.  It was like -40.  I was an icicle when I got home.  But so worth it!

One thought on “Night with an Olympian, Eric Radford

Leave a Reply

