Return to Pine Island and Cameron Island

Spiritual, beautiful, peaceful, sacred, that is my description of our journey this weekend.  My uncle and three great-aunts, one great uncle are buried on Pine Island in Red Lake.  This island is now owned privately and this weekend the owner’s son, took us to visit the burial sites.  I don’t remember ever being there before, though I have been there as a child with my parents. We took my parents along so that they could help us navigate but it was actually my cousin Brenda and friend Kaaren Dannenmann who found the site.  My uncle was buried there about 65 years ago.

After visiting the graves and leaving gifts, we stopped by Cameron Island on our way back to Red Lake.  Cameron Island is also now owned privately.  My grandfather’s cabin/house that he purchased and put on this island was destroyed by the township in the early sixties when the township was destroying many homes that were occupied by the First Nations people because they were not purchased from the town and were not paying taxes. My grandfather bought the house and hauled it to the island and settled there.

You can read more about it in my book  This Land, These Waters!

Mom and Dad

Mom and Dad

summer2014 318

 

Brenda Cameron at the grave of a child

Brenda Cameron at the grave of a child

We left turtle rocks on the graves

We left turtle rocks on the graves

A toy car, old gifts left on graves

A toy car, old gifts left on graves

 

summer2014 326

summer2014 328

 

 

 

Kaaren,Dad, Mom,Me, Brenda and Andy

Kaaren,Dad, Mom,Me, Brenda and Andy

summer2014 333

summer2014 343

Here is the video that I took.

 

summer2014 339

 

Mom on Cameron Island

Mom on Cameron Island

Brenda holding a pot that my grandparents used!

Brenda holding a pot that my grandparents used!

 

 

 

book2 010

 

Leave a Reply

