My lifelong love of books

It all started with a little book.  I can’t remember the title but it has a little girl with a yellow dress and roller skates. I can see it in my head. And from there my love of books grew but really it all began even before then when my sister would read stories to my brother and I.

I don’t enjoy all types of books, though. I was never much into science fiction or fantasy but I did read Harry Potter to see what all the fuss was about and I loved the Hobbit and Lord of the Rings and that is because my grade 8 teacher read the Hobbit out loud to us each day.

Archie comics, as you all know, are the best thing since sliced bread.  Love them forever and just can’t get enough. I find now that I can go back and re-read them because I don’t remember most of the story lines anyway. As a child, I also read Richie Rich, Casper, Little LuLu and more that I can’t think of right now.

Nancy Drew is a forever love and I also like Cherry Aimes. Last week when we were in the big city, we went to second hand and antique stores.  I was so excited to find some books that I love and then frightened because now that I know that they’re out there I will be forced to keep searching.

Anyway, I am into children’s books because they are happy memories of my childhood.

 

 

20160408_064954

Leave a Reply

