Motivational stuff

I like a good motivational saying, something that is witty and wise and that might stick in my head for awhile to give me a push when I need it. These days with Facebook, it seems that there is motivation galore out there, total websites and blogs about it. I wonder if we need it more these days than we did back in the day or if it just more accessible. I can’t remember any of them from the top of my head, but I know I can find one when I need one.

When I was a kid, back in the ’70s, we had a few plaques and posters and t-shirts that we got our motivational mantras from. Remember the kitten hanging from a tree branch that said, “Hang in there baby”?

Others I remember having hanging on my walls at times were: “If you love something set it free, if it comes back to you it’s yours, if it doesn’t it was never meant to be”,

“Keep smiling”,

“Peace”,

“Keep on trucking”,

“Take time to smell the flowers”,

“Never give up”.

I also had a t-shirt that said, “You have to kiss a lot of toads before you meet the handsome prince!”

Today I read that Mother Teresa was once asked if she would be part of a march against war and she refused but said that she would be part of a march for peace!  That has stuck in my  head all day.  Can we have some peace? Some love?

What’s your motivational saying?

20170705_142115.jpg

2 thoughts on “Motivational stuff

  1. Mine is “You can lead an ass to water but you can’t turn him into a horse.” In other words there are people not worth your time and effort. Avoid cruel abusive and manipulative types and stick to people who do you good.

Leave a Reply

