Things my mom taught me

I can speak a little bit of ojibwe. She taught me to bead from a loom, how to embroider, how to knit and how to sew. She taught me to keep my house clean by cleaning up after myself. (I didn’t say I do everything that she taught me!)

Mom has been the biggest influence in my life and continues to be. I am still learning from her. I am learning how to survive, how to grieve, how to keep going on when times are tough. And I’m learning how to be sarcastic while doing so.

She taught me how to be a mother and for that I am grateful. She was not a perfect mother, nor am I. She has also taught me how to be a Kookum and when the time comes, I will try to be to my grandchildren the Kookum she was to my kids. I say “was” because she is different now with the dementia in some ways but she still loves her children and grandchildren and great grandchildren.

I learned how to be a woman from my mom.

 

Leave a comment